Admission Related Technical Helpdesk: 08584824065 / 06292218758 (10:30am-06:00pm)

Examination Related Helpline Number : 7501801160

The Department of Physics has started its journey in the year 1957 when Raiganj College was under the governance of Calcutta University. The Honours Course in Physics was introduced in the undergraduate level in 1968, after the acquisition of the college by North Bengal University in the year 1960. The Post Graduation studies in Physics have been started in the year 2015, immediately after the upgradation of Raiganj College (University College) as the Raiganj University. At present in addition of Under Graduate (Honours& General both) and Post Graduate Courses department has also started Course Work for Ph.D. Programme. Currently the department is running with five teachers (full time), eight guest teachers and four non-teaching staff (of which one is permanent). Students passed out from this department are engaged in research activity in different research institutions and also established in different academic institutions.

Vision of the Department:

●  To enhance scientific temperament in the society
●  To create job opportunities in the field of science and technology in this locality
●  To enquire nature and laws of nature by scientific investigation and exploration

Mission of the Department:

●  Offering UG and PG courses in CBCS mode prescribed by UGC for the students to impart up to date knowledge on the subject
●  Interdisciplinary courses and programs are also introduced to broaden knowledge in different branch of subjects
●  Research on modern and emerging fields in the subject of physical sciences

List of Academic Programs Offered

Level & Nature of the ProgramsDegrees Approved/Offered
(Evening/ Self Financed)
Masters (Taught)MSc-Physics
Masters (Research)MPhil-Physics
DoctoralPh.D. (Science)-Physics

Objective of the UG Program:

●  To award B.Sc. (Hons) degree in physics

●  To impart up to date knowledge on the basic subjects of Physics

●  To prepare students for further study

Objective of the PG Program:

●  To award M.Sc. degree in physics

●  To impart up to date knowledge on the basic as well as special subjects of Physics

●  To encourage students for research work on the modern and emerging fields

Specialization of PG Program:

Nuclear Physics and particle physics

Future Program Planning :

After establishment of infrastructure (as mentioned) the department also aims to develop the research work in diversified fields like Liquid Crystals, X-ray Crystallography, Theoretical Physics, Materials Science etc. To start the research activity the department earnestly requires separate research centre and grant.

The Department has following facilities for its students, researchers and teachers-

●  The department has a good Library having many books for both UG and PG level. Students can use it.

●  Well equipped laboratories both for UG and PG level are there

●  Furniture available

●  We have a computer Lab for students as well as for teachers. Internet facility is also available

The Department has following research areas of interest as thrust area—

●  Liquid crystal and X-ray crystallography
●  Fluid Dynamics
●  Organic Photovoltaic
●  X-ray Powder Diffraction
●  Electronic Device

Specialization of the Research Programs:

Solid State Physics,

Nuclear Physics and cosmic Ray,

Computational application in Physics,

Nuclear Physics and cosmic Ray,


1.Number of M.Phil. Candidate Received their Degrees (if any): NA
(Name of the Candidate with Title of the Thesis and Year of Award)

2.Number of Ph.D. Candidate their Degrees (if any): 01 Name:Dr. Purnachandra Barman Title of the Thesis: Influence of Second Order effects on convective transport in porous media. Year of Award: 2018 (Name of the Candidate with Title of the Thesis and Year of Award)

3.Number of M.Phil. Candidate Registered (if any) (from 2015): NA (Only Name and Research Area)

4.Number of Ph.D. Candidate Registered (if any) (from 2015): 03

    1.Tanmay Choudhury (thesis submitted) Research Area: Liquid crystal and X-ray crystallography.
    2.Subhojit Sen Research Area: Organic Photovoltaic Cell
    3.Debtanu Ghosh Research Area: X-ray Powder Diffraction.

Gold Medalist:
●  AtreyeeChackraborty (2017)
●  Salman Islam (2018)

Silver Medalist:
●  Susmita Ghosh (2017)
●  Nadir Hossain (2018)

Diptanshu Basak pursuing PG courses in IIT Indore (2020 passed out)


Name of students enrolling in higher educationProgram graduated fromDepartment graduated fromName of institute joinedName of progrmme admitted toPast out year
1. Rakesh SarkarM.ScPhysicsVidyasagar UniversityPh.D2017
2. Atryee ChackrabortyM.ScPhysicsGour Banga UniversityPh.D2017


●  NET: 1 (2017): Rakesh Sarkar (NET Qualified)

●  SET: 1 (2018): Baban Saha (SET Qualified)

In 2016:    One Day State Level Seminar on Present Day Relevance of Physics. 3rd March,


2016. Department of Physics, Raiganj University.


In 2017:    National Seminar on Current Trends in Physics. 14th March, 2017. Dept. of Physics, Raiganj    University

Department of Sericulture
Ground Floor,
Behind Library, Main Building Annex
Raiganj University
West Bengal-733 134, India

Head/ Coordinator: (Dr.Amit Mandal)